First Time Making Recipes

The Beer Snob

Trial Member
Reaction score
I am pretty new to brewing and have so far only done a couple small all grain kits, I am hoping to do my first recipe in a couple weeks and would like your opinion on my recipe, specifically the grain bill and the hop times. I am going for a nice silky porter with a nice chocolate and caramel taste. I want to eventually make this into a chili porter by adding in habinaro peppers in secondary, but one step at a time. Any thoughts on if I should change anything?

Also I dont have a ton of equipment yet and was wondering if you had any recommendations, specifically for the kettle and the fermentor.

Here is the recipe:
Original Gravity: 1.057
Final Gravity: 1.018
ABV: 5.11%
IBU: 32.95
SRM: 34.49
Fermentables
Amount Fermentable PPG °L Bill %
1.25 lb Flaked Oats 33 2.2 11.4%
7.25 lb United Kingdom - Pale 2-Row 38 2.5 65.9%
0.75 lb United Kingdom - Chocolate 34 425 6.8%
0.25 lb United Kingdom - Black Patent 27 525 2.3%
0.75 lb United Kingdom - Maris Otter Pale 38 3.75 6.8%
0.75 lb United Kingdom - Cara Malt 35 17.5 6.8%
11 lb Total
Hops
Amount Variety Type AA Use Time IBU
1 oz Willamette Pellet 4.5 Boil 30 min 14.33
0.75 oz East Kent Goldings Pellet 5 Boil 60 min 15.54
0.5 oz Willamette Leaf/Whole 4.5 Boil 10 min 3.07

Mash Guidelines
Amount Description Type Temp Time
-- Infusion 156 F 60 min
Yeast Wyeast - Scottish Ale 1728
Attenuation (avg):71%
Flocculation:High
Optimum Temp: 55 - 75 °F
Starter: Yes
Fermentation Temp: 68 °F
Pitch Rate:0.5 (M cells / ml / ° P)

I agree with the poster from the other thread: This will be very dark. That much black patent might start to produce "burnt" flavors in the beer! BU:GU ratio is about 1:1.7, fairly balanced. I don't understand the function of that small amount of Maris Otter in the grist. Looks like it will make a pretty good beer if you reduce the amount of Black Patent.