Lager-like Blonde Ale

Nadingo

Trial Member
Reaction score
I want to use the Lutra Kveik yeast to nice lager-tasting ale for the summer. The recipe is below and I'm mainly looking for feedback on the hop selection/amount as well as the mash guidelines. I'm still fairly new to the homebrew process and 1.75 qt/lb seems a little dense, should I decrease the mash thickness to 1.25qt/lb?

Fermentables
6.15 lb Briess - Brewers Malt 2-Row 75%
2.05 lb Weyermann - Vienna Malt 25%
8.20 lbs

Hops
0.50 oz Yakima Chief Hops - Saaz Pellet 3.5 Boil at 212 °F 60 min 50%
0.50 oz Yakima Valley Hops - Hallertau (Mittelfruh) Pellet 3.6 Boil at 212 °F 15 min 50%
1 oz

Other Ingredients
Amount Name Cost Type Use Time
0.20 oz Orange Peel Flavor Boil 5 min.

Yeast
Omega Yeast Labs - Dried Lutra Kveik - OYL-071DRY

Mash Guidelines
Amount Description Type Start Temp Target Temp Time
3.6 gal Strike temp = 161°F | Target Temp = 154°F 60 min
Starting Mash Thickness: 1.75 qt/lb
Starting Grain Temp: 70 °F

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

What is your ibu ending up as?
I like the hallertau/saaz combination.
Maybe bring the 60 minute addition forward to 30 minutes. I need to check my recipes to see what I've been doing.

The other much more knowledgable members will pitch in shortly ;)

Your mash ratio is fine but the 1.25 qts/lb. is most typical. BIAB brewers will use up to the full amount of water in their mash. The higher ratio you have will make your mash less dense, not more dense.
As far as hops go, what you picked are both noble hops and will go together well
I'd plug it into a calculator as at a quick glance it would seem to me that your IBUs for this style will be low.
Not sure why you picked the kveik yeast unless you have difficult to control high temperatures?
There are certainly cleaner strains.
Brew it up, I bet it'll be great!
Cheers,
Brian