The grain I want to use is not listed - help!

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by LarryBrewer, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. Stormrider

    Stormrider New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When will Aussie & New Zealand malts be added to the list of malts?
     
    NattyJ likes this.
  2. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,729
    Likes Received:
    10,526
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    #22 Trialben, Dec 6, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2016
    this might help ya mate! You can add a customised malt just use maltsters specks for information on,PPG and lovibond of malt.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Stormrider

    Stormrider New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Trialben

    I was aware of the option to add various malts.

    However, it seems that brewers (and those that use grains sourced from ) USA , Belgium, Finland, Germany, Ireland and UK don't have to go to the trouble of researching and entering the specs of malts they work with.

    I do realise that here in Oz, we do have some of the above malts available, however, I pay the same amount for Premium Membership as any body else and would expect the same level of service. It would be a different matter if I was using Brewers Friend for free.

    I'm not asking for the inclusion of speciality malts ( though that would be welcomed), just Australian base malts.

    This issue of expanding the malt options was raised back in 2013 and by my understanding, zilch has been done since.
     
    NattyJ likes this.
  4. Mark D Pirate

    Mark D Pirate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    1,115
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Master carpenter , all round good guy
    Location:
    Radelaide SA , Australia
    With the exchange rate we pay more !
    Remember we are in the minority here so can't expect a business to change just to suit us , from what I understand the crux of it is the "Buy now " function that the site employs .
    Many of our malts have a direct parity with malts already in system but adding your own takes a few seconds , its the silly units used here by many that bug me more !
     
  5. Quokka42

    Quokka42 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dandenong, Australia
    I see they have added some Gladfield malts, but I often use local malts as my base and adding them as a custom fermentable gives me a diastatic power of 0! The spec sheet for the malt gives 375...
     
  6. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Yes, you would have to enter that DP number from the maltster. It defaults to 0 because we don't know which malt you are adding. The DP number there is in degrees Lintner. If your malt is given to you in WK (most European malts), it needs to be converted to Lintner. The formula is as follows: WK=3.5*Lintner – 16
     
  7. REPTILIA GALAPAGOS BREWERY

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Puerto Ayora - Isla Santa Cruz - Galapagos
    Alguien tiene los datos de DINGEMANS?
     
  8. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
  9. Dillon D'Adamo

    Dillon D'Adamo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    why don"t you send a message to Brewer's friend, via the contact area, and ask them too? Couldn't hurt, and I am sure that they want to be as all inclusive and up to date as possible.
     
  10. Texas Ale Works

    Texas Ale Works Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    43
  11. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    He asked in Spanish, so I replied in Spanish. But I don't have a way to easily type the accent marks.

    Sorry for the confusion.
     
  12. Texas Ale Works

    Texas Ale Works Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    43
    i was kidding.....
     
  13. Hawkbox

    Hawkbox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    3,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Edmonton
  14. Head First

    Head First Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,284
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Back in the mountains
    I know cervesa and bano(squiggly mark).
    Pretty basic. Yoop will have to help this fellow brewer out.
     
  15. SKmattie

    SKmattie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I have just used trial version and grains were sorted by country and by Simpsons (UK) by brand.
    Now I buy Premium Member, but the list of grains is lost, it is not logical now. In the trial version, Simpson's grain is a whole range, now it's nothing. Why? Have a Premium Member just for a list of recipes, but do not know how to set up a recipe, why is it?
    Thank you for your answer
     
  16. truckmann

    truckmann New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Most of the grains are kept generic on purpose since it would be very difficult to have a list of every grain available. There are a few in the list that are specific to the supplier. If you type in the name "Simpson" it will show you all that is available from them. If what you need isn't in the list and isn't comparable to a generic malt you can use the "Add Custom" button to input all the details of the grain you want to use.

    upload_2019-1-21_13-25-54.png
     
  17. SKmattie

    SKmattie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for your post.
    But in the trial version, it's easier to use English grains, so it's in the UK list, if I want German, then GERMANY, US US, now I bought premium and it's in confusion, I'm from Europe, we use EBC, not SRM , I do not use PPG. In TRIAL version I had everything I needed and everything was accurate. In premium, I have to look for what kind of grain I really want to use.
     
  18. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    You can still use the 'generic' version of the grains if you would like. We are doing some updates right now, and it should get easily sorted very very soon.
     
    truckmann likes this.
  19. truckmann

    truckmann New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Has it been a long time since you used the trial? I'm not seeing any difference being logged in vs. not logged in on how the the recipe generator currently works. You can change the settings to EBC if you prefer that. Just click on the "MORE..." button near the top. You can also change the default settings in your account to use EBC under Profile>General settings.

    upload_2019-1-21_15-12-13.png

    They are working on ways to better search the malts and include more brands. I'm not sure how having the country of origin is more helpful than finding the specific malt brand. If the brand you use isn't in there yet then it will have to be added as custom and it looks like they are using that info to verify and add more brands to the database.

    Here is some more info. Maybe this would be a good place to add your input. https://www.brewersfriend.com/forum/threads/make-searching-malts-easier.9484/
     
  20. Black Lion Homebrewery

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Central Kentucky
    The generics have lost their country tags in recipe creator, so they are currently hard (impossible) to find and use.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white