New recipe builder

Discussion in 'Brewer's Friend Announcements' started by wildmancurry, Jan 24, 2019.

  1. TxBrew

    TxBrew Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I think by tomorrow all live site issues will be addressed. I completely agree that the latest version should have never been pushed into production and the response to fix the issues should have been much more timely. Appreciate the support in helping us understand the issues, we have learned a lot on best practices.
     
  2. Group W

    Group W Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    2,163
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks TxBrew. I’ve been laying low on this one. I don’t use inventory or brew sessions and just print a copy of my recipe (wish it were one page again) on brew day and make notes on it. Thanks again for your effort.
     
  3. Misiak

    Misiak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Marianka, Slovakia
    For me it work just fine. If I click on "Inventory" tab in recipe builder it shows my fermentables sorted alphabetically. Most issues has already been solved, there are still few glitches but at least recipe builder is usable now.

    Is it normal that beta is broken and live version works fine ? Hope you are not going to publish beta in current state onto the live system :)
     
  4. Josh (Brewer's Friend)

    Josh (Brewer's Friend) Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saint Johns, FL
    Home Page:
    Hi Misiak, the fixes on beta right now are intended to address some of the inconsistencies in fermentable entry and custom fermentable saving that folks have reported. Are you seeing problems with what’s there right now? Can you send over details on what you’re seeing so we can work to fix those as we’re testing? Thanks for your help!
     
  5. Misiak

    Misiak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Marianka, Slovakia
    Hi Josh, I had same problems on live and beta, but recently live works fine for me but beta is still broken. I'm not sure how that's possible but I'm talking about this use case:

    If I add a custom fermentable on beta, the % value is empty and disabled and it does not contribute into OG no matter how much weight of grain I use. This is working fine on live system though. This would be problem if you deploy this from beta to live system.

    Also if you switch from SRM Moorey to EBC Moorey in "Advanced Recipe Options" Lovibonds are recalculated to EBC (bug - label is not changed from Lovi to EBC) but then if I add another custom fermentable from the inventory the value is displayed in Lovibonds again. If you ten click "sort" it sorts but the Lovibond/EBC value is increased every time you click on sort - this is strange indeed.

    On live this does not work as well but other stuff is more-less working.

    Almost forgot, one great improvement would be if you can sort Brew Session Fermentation logs table (Edit) by date ascending - from newest to oldest ;)

    Thanks for fixing.
     
  6. Josh (Brewer's Friend)

    Josh (Brewer's Friend) Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saint Johns, FL
    Home Page:
    Thanks for elaborating! Just to clarify, have you tried the beta site since last evening? We have some new fixes there we just deployed last night so I want to make sure we’re discussing the latest version.

    Any chance you could try those on beta one more time and grab screenshots of anything you’re still seeing problems with?

    I really appreciate this feedback. Definitely helps us keep getting the site back to 100%.
     
  7. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    We decided last evening that we would remove that inventory filter, because it seems to be a hindrance and not a help to anyone. I would guess that most of the group agrees with that, but if not, please let us know!
     
    J A likes this.
  8. Misiak

    Misiak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Marianka, Slovakia
    I agree, it was a strange button anyway, for me inventory tab is enough - it's only thing I need because all my stuff for brewing is there so it's a great and quick way how to add my fermentables, hops, etc...

    Yes. I've tried it right before I posted to be sure. I will make screenshot, no problem.... Give me few minutes....
     
  9. J A

    J A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    2,763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Since my inventory custom fermentables were at the top of the drop down, it was perfect before and the inventory filter is completely superfluous. Anything that wasn't in my inventory was in the default list and it worked great.
    I'm still showing an un-altered editor with inventory filter. I'll look at it later and see it any changes have caught up.
     
  10. Misiak

    Misiak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Marianka, Slovakia
    Happy to report, the wrong malt origin displayed in receipt has been fixed on beta!

    So these are the issues with receipt builder on beta I've found. See attachment. The first issue on picture with % works on live - don't understand how's possible? Has been fixed directly on live and beta has been forgotten ?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Josh (Brewer's Friend)

    Josh (Brewer's Friend) Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saint Johns, FL
    Home Page:
    That's great that the malt origin issue is fixed!

    Very strange on the percentage issue and color though. I've made a few more adjustments on Beta, but seems like it's working there in my testing. Can you try force-refreshing the page, clearing cache, or trying in an incognito window?

    Or if that doesn't help, can you see if there are any javascript errors? this is a good explanation of how to check for that:
    https://kb.yoast.com/kb/how-to-find-javascript-errors-with-your-browsers-console/

    For reference, attached is the behavior of that walkthrough for me on Beta.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Misiak

    Misiak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Marianka, Slovakia
    Hey, thanks for feedback.

    If I do it like you, it works... Even Lovi label is switched by EBC and it's recalculated properly. But try to add a custom fermentable from "Inventory" tab. Then is messed up and there I got a javascript error so I guess this is the reason why it does not work. So first you go to Inventory and define some custom fermentable. Then go back to builder and try to use it via inventory tab. This works fine on live system as I a said so it's strange. Have a look at the screenshot.

    What tool do you use for making that gif video ? I would try it as well and show you, I think it's the best way how to describe it.... What browser do you use ? I can see you have much nicer checkboxes :)

    Error:
    1. SCRIPT5007: Unable to get property 'value' of undefined or null reference
      index.ts (26,13)
    2. HTTP403: FORBIDDEN - The server understood the request, but is refusing to fulfill it. (Beacon)POST - https://sentry.io/api/1176007/store/?sentry_key=1bf3f44ed68e4195ad7c6c3209f82a6a&sentry_version=7
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Misiak

    Misiak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Marianka, Slovakia
    Here I made a video as well.
     

    Attached Files:

    TxBrew and Yooper like this.
  14. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9,400
    Likes Received:
    6,609
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    I just updated (actually, reverted) one of my recipes using the Recipe Builder. I used only the "default" malts (manufacturer not specified). Everything worked pretty well, I like the water calculator actually linked to the recipe. I had to search for "blackprinz" in the fermentables list, worked well. Hops, I had to fix them but they came through fine from the previous recipe. The print format still has the excessive space, can it be a local setting? All in all, I'm happy with the results I got.
     
  15. AHarper

    AHarper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    There is still an issue with Yeasts and their selection. I have named yeasts in my Inventory that I can see in the drop down but CAN NOT select so that the name appears in the box. The FULL inventory amount of my selected yeast goes in but not the name - AND NOTHING IS SAVED FOR YEASTS when I save the recipe.
    Selecting a known yeast from my inventory that is also in the main list is OK but I want to use my OWN named yeast from my inventory OR a named yeast from the main list.
    What if you were to have your own scavenged yeast you call MyYeast in the inventory? Does it have to now go in the main list? If so who else has access to the yeast to be able to use it in thee FV? No one.... so why make it so that is the only way to have it in the builder?

    Please fix this.
     
  16. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9,400
    Likes Received:
    6,609
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    He's using a custom yeast - have you written that capability?
     
  17. Josh (Brewer's Friend)

    Josh (Brewer's Friend) Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saint Johns, FL
    Home Page:
    Thanks so much Misiak, that definitely helped. Can you check the beta site once more? I've made a few more fixes that should address the JS error that was happening for you.

    That's great news, Nosybear - thanks for persevering on this!

    Hi AHarper, great find on this. It does appear that that scenario was overlooked. I'm working on building a fix for this now so you'll be able to select those yeasts in the list, or at least choose them from inventory and have them work. Will follow up shortly on this.
     
  18. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9,400
    Likes Received:
    6,609
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    I posted in another forum an issue I found: The volume is missing from "Fermentation Complete" in the brew log. I use a conical fermentor, there's always loss when fermentation's done and I transfer to another vessel or package so I'd like to be able to track the losses - more out of curiosity than anything else!
     
  19. Josh (Brewer's Friend)

    Josh (Brewer's Friend) Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saint Johns, FL
    Home Page:
    Sure thing! That should be updated on the live site now.
     
  20. Misiak

    Misiak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Marianka, Slovakia
    Thanks a lot, it works fine now! Also Lovi to EBC works. When do you plan to release the changes on live ? I can still see that inventory filter there :)
     

Share This Page

arrow_white