something like sam smith's nut brown ale

cheech226

Trial Member
Reaction score
i'm very new at the craft. my first brew is in my lbk from mr. beer right now. my goal is to make something close to my favorite brew, the nut brown ale. i want to begin gathering supplies for the next batch. i'd rather not use a hme. i'm pretty sure i could handle a malt extract and hop it myself. what i look for right now is advice on yeast. i've read good things about us-05, but i have little practical knowledge. please make some recommendations for me, not just for yeast.

wow! i see i'm getting a little ahead of myself here. thanks for the link. that's what i want to make, but for the next couple batches i'm gonna keep it simple and acquire the gear i need for future brews. all i have now is the mr. beer nut brown ale kit.

You’ll have to have boil capability if you’re buying extract that isn’t hopped. You can do a partial boil. Brewers Best also sells some hardware kits that are an excellent starting point for extract brewing.

I've brewed for the Mr. Beer LBK size batch and I think I have some recipes that would suit. I'll dig around and see what I've got.

Better, yet...this is exactly what you need:
http://www.britishbrewer.com/2010/04/recipe-samuel-smiths-nut-brown-ale/
Proper sized batch for you, procedure explained, lots of information that you can use. You need to ease up the learning curve a little further, but you could make this beer. The only thing I would change is the yeast. Get a packet of S-04 and ferment at 65 degrees air temp. And try not to get ahead of yourself. You'll make a few batches of beer that are okay at best, but if you're careful about things, you'll be making some very good beer before you know it.
Good Luck! :)

Better, yet...this is exactly what you need:
http://www.britishbrewer.com/2010/04/recipe-samuel-smiths-nut-brown-ale/