Time to decide on a second batch - looking for recommendations

Tal Orbach

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello there.
My name it Tal. I am very new to home brewing.
I made my first batch a few weeks ago, and now, the time has come to decide on what to brew for my next batch. I'd really appreciate your advice.
First off - a bit about my own taste in beer: I don't like sweet or fruity beers (belgian ales are really not my thing) nor do I enjoy overly hoppy ones (most IPAs I've tasted I could appreciate, but not enjoy; the exception being Hitachino, which I actually did enjoy). I like a drinkable beer, but one with some complexity. I love them when they are bitter, but not too much so, and I enjoy some interesting hoppiness or maltiness, as long as they're not overbearing. I love toasted flavors in beer - especially in relatively lighter beers. Not a huge fan of porters and stouts. (I'm especially into lagers, but those aren't an option at this time).

A bit about my technical situation - I live in a house with rather thick walls, so temperatures don't fluctuate too much, but summer is coming, and temperatures here are on the rise - currently around 26C (79F) indoors, and that figure will surely go up. For this reason, I plan on putting my fermenter in a small tub of water, and adding ice occasionally.

I'd really like my next batch to be BIAB.

I thought of either brewing a lighter ale with some toastiness to it or an Irish Red - but if I do that, I want it to have this thick body, with creamy, velvety head. If you could point me at a good recipe for either of these - that'd be great. If you think this might be a bit too ambitious for a novice like myself - please tell me.