Forced Caronation

Sean Fawcett

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi:

I've been brewing in 5 gallon batches and bottling for about five years. Recently a friend who owns a pub gave me a kegerator so I am experimenting with kegging. The kegerator has two taps but one regulator, so I can't force carbonate at the same time I have a keg tapped for serving.

So, what I am doing is:
  • Disconnect the input side from the serving keg and connect it to the output side of the new (to be carbonated keg)
  • Increase the pressure on the regulator to about 30psi
  • Disconnect the gas line from the new keg (it stays pressurized), adjust the regulator back to about 8 psi and reattach to the serving keg.
  • Repeat this process a couple of time a day for a few days. (Hopefully this will fully carbonate the new keg)
Does this make sense? Should I be doing something different?

Also, After the beer is fully carbonated, if I am not going to serve the bear for a couple of weeks or so, what pressure should I "store" the keg at? I assume if I leave it at 30 psi, it will be way too foamy?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

you only force carb at 30 for 1 to 2 days, you serve at 10 to 12 psi, you can unhook the gas to the drinking keg and still use it, the pressure to dispense beer isn't that much and you will get a good 5 or 6 pints before you recharge it, in that case just plug the 30 gas in for a few seconds then unplug if your still force carbing the other

What I do is force carb at around 30-35PSI for around 36-48 hours. Then I have left some for a few weeks sitting because I don't have a tap for it. Doesn't hurt it. If you don't leave the force carb pressure on to long the beer will absorb the gas and actually equalizes to a new pressure level. Hence the 10-12psi serving pressure, at that point you aren't really adding anymore gas to the beer, just keeping it from losing co2 in solution.