Smoking, grilling and curing foods, etc.

BOB357

Trial Member
Reaction score
Just thought I'd see how many out there enjoy these hobbies. I have some great recipes, techniques and reviews on equipment that I'm willing to swap/share. Pastrami, corned beef, pulled pork, ham. bacon. pork belly, Salads and sides that go well with BBQ. Smoking fish, cheese and jerky. Sauces, rubs and marinades too. I've been doing these things for 40+ years and have a pretty extensive collection.

Just thought I'd see how many out there enjoy these hobbies. I have some great recipes, techniques and reviews on equipment that I'm willing to swap/share. Pastrami, corned beef, pulled pork, ham. bacon. pork belly, Salads and sides that go well with BBQ. Smoking fish, cheese and jerky. Sauces, rubs and marinades too. I've been doing these things for 40+ years and have a pretty extensive collection.
Definitely a hobby I am looking to get more into. Goes well with homebrewing.

I haven’t done pastrami or corned beef yet, but they’re on my to do list. I do a lot of sausage. Bacon, ribs, ham, and any meat worth smoking for dinner, too. I did some pancetta not long ago. And I love making jerky. I just dehydrated a batch for the first time. I made my own teriyaki sauce for it. That’s money! If BF doesn’t have a problem with this discussion, I’m all for it. I tried a smoked meat forum, but it’s overwhelming. Most of my recipes come from Michael Ruhlman’s Charcuterie. That’s a good book.

Definitely a hobby I am looking to get more into. Goes well with homebrewing.

It sure does. Nothing better on a nice day than sitting out on the patio with a cold beer and the smell of wood smoke and BBQ.