No yeast activity

RalphK

Trial Member
Reaction score
So I had a good brew day and pitched the dry yeast at about 21 celsius. It is now 26 hours later and there is no activity. I used an American West Coast Ale yeast. Unfortunately I do not know which brand as the homebrew store I bought it from had repackaged it in a vacuum sealed package. I have some yeast that I harvested from a Weissbier that I bottled a week ago and was thinking I should just throw that in for good measure. Any thoughts? Advice? I am new to this and this is only my 4th brew.

When you say activity, do you mean airlock activity? Or no krausen? Are you fermenting in a bucket? Either way, I would give it another day. Air lock activity is not necessarily an indicator of activity. If you are using a bucket, you may not have a good seal on the lid. If it is US-05 yeast it is sometimes slow to start.

Give it another day or so. At the beginning of fermentation, the CO2 dissolves into the beer until saturation, then the bubbles form. Airlock activity should become vigorous after that.

Ah yes, and Welcome to Brewer's Friend, nice poochie in you avatar too!

H*ckin good looking dog.

Any chance you've got a hydrometer or refractometer? If it's just airlock activity you're looking for, your fermentor may not have a seal so you wouldn't see any. A gravity reading would confirm/deny this idea.