Xtract brew completed fermenting in 4 days?

Reebman1

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi folks! A relative noob here, having brewed my first extract (Brewer's Best APA kit) back in February and it was a success! I just brewed a second batch (same) on Mon 5/30/2016 and while it started 'cooking' fairly soon after pitching the yeast, it really went to town so to speak! The ferm bucket is in our bedroom and it was very noisy for three nights but then it came to a screeching halt on the fourth day and I'm thinking perhaps something has gone awry? OG = 1.050. Target 1.012-1.015 and it is currently reading (two days in a row) 1.009 (adjusted for temp).

So, my question is, should I rack it to a carboy and let it settle out for a week or so then bottle or just leave it in the ferm bucket to finish before bottling in a week or so? I might add that the temp where I am letting it ferment is between 70-72 - which is just aboout the coolest place in our house. I would prefer it to be in the 65-68 range but I'd have to really crank down the AC and I don't want to do that. Thanks for any help you can offer me. Cheers :cool:

You're lower than your target gravity. If it were me, I'd rack it into a secondary for two weeks, and then bottle it. Others will tell you secondaries are not necessary.

You don't mention what yeast you're using, but it's not surprising that almost any ale yeast would finish quickly in 72 degrees ambient. Since there's some exothermic reaction, the wort temp could easily reach into the upper 70s. At 1.009, I'd slay it's definitely done.