weizen

Zambi

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Not yet a recipe, but some questions on how to brew.

I got quite a primitive set up.
Gas, pot, biab and mash by putting pot with bag and malt inside a duvet lined cooler box.

Most weizen recipes I see have a rest at fairly low temps to enhance clove taste.
Could I heat (hardly and heating necessary) to that temperature (ok, little above) then add grains. Put in cooler box to maintain temperature.
Remove grains and keep to the side.
Heat the liquid and continue as per 1-step mash?

Alternatively, I have to try heat up in the pot and construct a false bottom. But method described above would fit my system better

NOTE: I am no Weizen expert brewer.

But I don't like the idea of removing the grains.

Can you add hot water to your pot to get from your rest temp to mash temp? The added hot water would essentially get you to "full volume".

If not, I would just skip the rest.

Following, for better answers...

I'm not a BIAB brewer and as @Megary suggested, a hot water infusion would be the easiest option. Removing the grains, heating the wort, and returning grain to kettle to continue the mash sounds workable because you do smaller batches. You could also do a single mash temperature somewhere between the two mash temps.

I think the low temp rest is just a protein rest. Wheat has allot of protein and that rest will help clear it later. You don't have to do it

Ferulic acid rest I'm sure it's called:).

I've never done a ferulic acid rest on the few wheat beers I've brewed in my time.

I just mashed a two step mash my usually routine.

When I used gas heating on my BIAB set-up I'd just lift the bag off the bottom when heating to my next rest whilst stiring wort with a spoon .

Good luck Zambezi I'm sure you'll like this style for sure.

Another thing I hear is wheat beer is driven alot on yeast pitch and fermenting temperature.

Waiting for @Donoroto to weigh in his thoughts.:)