Temperature after primary fermentation

Discussion in 'General Brewing Discussions' started by InspectorJon, Jul 13, 2018.

1. InspectorJon

InspectorJon New Member

I am kind of new to this. I have brewed 10 beers so far and been quite happy with the results. I don't have a dedicated temperature control system. I have been using a water bath this summer and putting ice packs in as necessary to keep the temperature in the mid to upper 60's F for fermentation. My question is how critical is temperature control once fermentation is done (typically after 2-4 days or less)? I use US-05 yeast and brew IPA, APA and porters. I like to leave the beer in the primary for at least ten days before bottling. Sometimes I dry hop. I have learned a lot fromthis forum and appreciate all the time folks have put into answering questions like this.

2. Nosybear

Nosybear Well-Known Member

Two schools of thought on this: Short term, not very. Long term, storage temperature is supposed to affect shelf life, the higher the temperature, the shorter the shelf life. I don't store at any particular temperature - the basement is whatever temperature it is. My beers generally last about 6 months in the bottle, with some deterioration in flavor at the end of that time.

3. J A

J A Well-Known Member

I believe you're asking about the time between the completion of fermentation and packaging. That can be an important time in the life of a beer because even though the yeast has converted the sugars to alcohol and the beer may be essentially at final gravity, there's still a lot going on with further metabolism and "cleaning up" esters and compounds that may cause off flavors.