Pre Pro Lager

Sandy Feet

Trial Member
Established Member
Reaction score
I was playing around on one of the other threads the other night, and Josh gave me a start with an idea for a yeast.
I have never done a lager before, and I want to try one in January. I have looked at a few videos and read some online articles. As a result, I understand a few things, but am lacking knowledge with some other things.
Pre Pro Lager | Classic American Pilsner BIAB Beer Recipe | Brewer's Friend (brewersfriend.com)
Above is my idea up to this point: I can always make changes.
My questions are the following:
1. I need some help with a lager schedule (both time and temperature). The homebrew store says that they vary greatly.
2. If I use the yeast I have selected, my understanding is that I can do a direct pitch if the wort is warm enough. I usually use 2 packets, so I am thinking 4 for a lager. I cannot chill below 78F with my wort chiller, but I do have a refrigerator than can get as cold as I need. If I really needed, I could pitch the next day.
3. I am using a very simple BIAB set-up, so I cannot do a protein rest with the 6 row. Would I need to increase the boil time, or is a standard 60 minutes enough?

Thanks for any insight that you can give to a lager newbie.

I was playing around on one of the other threads the other night, and Josh gave me a start with an idea for a yeast.
I have never done a lager before, and I want to try one in January. I have looked at a few videos and read some online articles. As a result, I understand a few things, but am lacking knowledge with some other things.
Pre Pro Lager | Classic American Pilsner BIAB Beer Recipe | Brewer's Friend (brewersfriend.com)
Above is my idea up to this point: I can always make changes.
My questions are the following:
1. I need some help with a lager schedule (both time and temperature). The homebrew store says that they vary greatly.