LOW OG

WCWMatt

Premium Member
Reaction score
Looking for suggestions to help solve my low OG issue. My last two brews I didn't hit my OG numbers, not even close. I've been all grain brewing with 4 batches under my belt. First two, great; last two, way off. Final results, interestingly, was still tasty beer, but I'd like to solve the problem. There are a couple of things I did wrong and am adjusting and they are: I was experimenting with my herms system and my mash temp was about 5 degrees higher than the recipe called for and second, I ordered the grains milled (didn't mill myself). I'm no milling expert, but I definitely get a finer product when I mill versus what I received when ordered. I can 'fix' both of these on the next batch, but any other suggestions for things I should be looking for?

Was your pre-boil OG close or way out as well? I've realized lately I'm mashing to high and have ended up with high FG issues but it hasn't really affected the OG.

Maybe the grain had been milled and sitting for a while before it shipped?

Pre-boil was off as well. Not brewing this weekend, but next weekend for sure and I'll be milling here. At a minimum remove those two items as the issue - or hopefully it solves the problem

Can you think of anything else you did differently in the batches that came out low? Taking lots of notes is a good idea too, then you can reference against them and see if you did something different without realizing it.

Higher mash temp will likely result in reasonably consistent OG but lower FG...you'll be making sugars but they're less fermentable. Getting a good temp setting on the HERMS system requires accurate temp probe placement and careful PID programming. If you're not using a controller, it's tough to keep it consistent. I try to go by the warmest temperature of the mash as it comes out of the HERMS coil and ignore the grain bed temp. That's been treating me pretty well so far.