First ever AG - Maris Otter Pale Ale

talltwits@gmail.com

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hey folks! Thanks for having me here on the forum! I'm a newbie to home brewing and have only three extract brews under my belt. Been thinking of moving to AG as I want to learn as much as I can and hopefully further skills. After all...I have been told once you go AG you don't go back...or something like that! :?

So I've been recommend to do some research into a Maris otter pale ale to start off with. Can anyone recommend a recipe? I'm new to Brewers friend and struggling to navigate through the website as I'm a little unfamiliar with it the now. I have a 19 litre stock pot and will be going down the BiAB route. Can anyone recommend a recipe for that size of pot and a Maris otter pale ale recipe?

Much appreciated!

if i could go back, i would have started with a SMaSH recipe, single malt and single hop.

You should try a single malt Maris Otter, and choose a hop that sounds good to you. https://ychhops.com/varieties

Brew it, and when it's done, do some research into more malts, hops, recipes. Branch off from your SMASH beer and be meticulous. take good notes. Experiment. Drink more beer. And then drink some beer.

If there's an extract recipe that you like, Google 'extract to grain conversion.' Even as a rookie, I'm pretty happy with my ability to get recipes close to what I like. Assume about 70% efficiency to start. Use the same hops, go for the same IBUS. If your extract recipe has steeping grains, use the same amount in your AG recipe, in addition to the grains you use for your extract conversion. Use the same yeast. It's not that hard. If it was, I wouldn't do it!

I wholeheartedly agree with oliver. Maris and Amarillo make for a great pale.

I've got roughly the same size pot as you, and I can fit about 11 lbs of grain comfortably.

Probably around 10lbs should give you a nice sessionable beer.