Acceptable fix?

GDubs

Trial Member
Established Member
Reaction score
I am new to homebrewing and prior to yesterday I had only ever made prepackaged 5 gallon kits. I wanted to make some thing much lighter than I had been making for my wife and friends who don’t drink stronger beers. Using the recipe calculator, I put together a simple cream ale with an ABV of 4.9% that called for 6lbs of LME. I got a little overzealous topping off my wort and added too much water, resulting in a gravity .012 below (1.037) my target gravity (1.049)…. Unfortunately, that was my second mistake. My first mistake was pouring the “extra” half pound of LME down the drain while cleaning up during the boil. Having only worked from kits in the past, I did not have any DME or LME on hand. In a panic I googled cane sugar, quickly did the math, melted just under 3 cups of white sugar in just enough water to keep it from caramelizing and added it to my wort. That got me to 1.047… close enough.
So, what did I do to my beer??? What will the effects of cane sugar be on the finished product? The beer does not have a lot of backbone to begin with, I am worried that I will have made an already light beer too light.
Is there anything I could’ve done differently, other than having reserved the extra LME and been more careful with the additional water?
Thank you for any insight..

Flavor won't really change from the 1.037 version, it will just have more alcohol. (Or rather or will have the abv you intended)