Dumper or ?

west1m

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
I cooked up a batch of Pale Ale today. Unfortunately I had more than one plan on the brain before starting. When I bought the grain I was going to use my filterd hard water so I threw in some acidulated grain. Plan B rolls around and all RO water gets used. After the mash going into the boil pot I tried checking the PH. Low 4s. I tossed in a spoon of baking soda and watched it fizz , hmmm acidic or what!
Seeing over a gallon of trub in the bottom of the boil pot I am short on my 5 gallon target to the fermenter. The SG is already low but I tossed in a quart of water anyway.
Threw in some yeast and closed the door, wonder if it will be drinkable...
Too many plans at one time...

I would say let it ride, have a taste when you reach FG, and decide if it is worth packaging or not. But I am no expert, others will no doubt have some input.

Session beer? From where you're at I'd try it at packaging time to see if it's worth the effort (and if it's kegging it probably is).

The baking soda likely fizzed because of neucleation, not acid/base reaction. The gallon of "trub" in your kettle probably contained about 3/4 gallon of good wort. It would have settled just fine in your fermenter had you transferred it and would have had no ill effects on the finished beer. If you're going to leave 25% of your wort in the pot, you'll need to alter your calculations when devising recipes.

Good point, I personally get a half gallon of trub per 5 gallons, even after whirlpooling and leaving a good deal of hop de ris in the kettle

What everyone else said, plus I'd add that I started keeping some of the lightest dme i can find, in stock at the house just in case I feel like I really want to hit my numbers if I come up missing the mark by an amount worth adjusting. I've only done so once, but it was nice to have the option and worked beautifully with the calculators here on bf.