German Pils recipe feedback

Carpy

Premium Member
Reaction score
I am a newbie to Brewer's Friend recipe builder. I am also a newbie to brewing German Pils. I am seeking feedback on a German Pils recipe I constructed today. I especially am concerned about the hops, in particular IBU's. I don't want to say that I don't trust this tool, but more so do not trust myself (yet) in using it. :)

Also, we use our softened well water, so it is quite low in minerals. Although I am an extract (sometimes mini-mash) brewer I have occasionally added CaSO4 i particular to some English beers. Should I add any for this German Pils, and/or other minerals (CaCO3, CaCl2, etc.)?

TIA. Cheers!

Carpy

HOME BREW RECIPE:
Title: German Pils

Brew Method: Extract
Style Name: German Pils
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 5 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 3 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.046
Efficiency: 75% (steeping grains only)

Hop Utilization Multiplier: 1

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.052
Final Gravity: 1.013
ABV (standard): 5.14%
IBU (tinseth): 37.44
SRM (morey): 3.02
Mash pH: 0

FERMENTABLES:
3.3 lb - LME Pilsen Light (46.5%)
3.3 lb - LME Pilsen Light - (late addition) (46.5%)

STEEPING GRAINS:
0.5 lb - American - Carapils Malt (7%)

HOPS:
1.5 oz - Tettnanger, Type: Pellet, AA: 4.5, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 26.67
1 oz - Tettnanger, Type: Pellet, AA: 4.5, Use: Boil for 20 min, IBU: 10.77
1 oz - Hallertau Hersbrucker, Type: Pellet, AA: 4, Use: Aroma for 0 min

YEAST:
Wyeast - Bohemian Lager 2124
Starter: Yes
Form: Liquid
Attenuation (avg): 75%
Flocculation: Medium
Optimum Temp: 48 - 58 F
Fermentation Temp: 50 F
Pitch Rate: 0.75 (M cells / ml / deg P)

PRIMING:
CO2 Level: 2.25 Volumes

The recipe will make a pils. The rest is in the process.

The recipe will make a pils. The rest is in the process.
Thanks for the feedback..
I was considering replacing the Tettnanger bittering with either Perle or Magnum. Your thoughts?