White IPA - Fermentation Stalled?

Edinbrewer

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I’m a relative novice to brewing but wanted to try something slightly more challenging. I used 4kg of Pale Malt and 2kg of Wheat to try and make something approaching a White IPA. I used a liquid yeast from White Labs - Belgian Wit Yeast. Fermentation was normal and steadily gurgled away (almost constantly) for 24 hrs or more - then STOPPED. Foam has disappeared from the top and it appears to have stalled? Is this normal for a wheat beer? I have tried gently swirling/agitating the bucket to help it along but so far to no avail....
Can anyone help me or just give me some advice?

Cheers, Murray

Have you taken gravity readings? It may just be done quickly.

I did take a reading yesterday and it has certainly 'motored along from OG' ~ I didn't think it would be Finished already!? I'll take another and check. Can it REALLY be Finished fermenting after 2 days? Maybe the White Labs Yeast is just very efficient?

What was you OG and FG Readings and yeast used this will help.

Hi,

I’m a relative novice to brewing but wanted to try something slightly more challenging. I used 4kg of Pale Malt and 2kg of Wheat to try and make something approaching a White IPA. I used a liquid yeast from White Labs - Belgian Wit Yeast. Fermentation was normal and steadily gurgled away (almost constantly) for 24 hrs or more - then STOPPED. Foam has disappeared from the top and it appears to have stalled? Is this normal for a wheat beer? I have tried gently swirling/agitating the bucket to help it along but so far to no avail....
Can anyone help me or just give me some advice?

Cheers, Murray
Always gravitate toward the easiest explanation and in this case, the easiest explanation is that the fermentation is done. Check it with either a refractometer or hydrometer and if it no longer changes gravity, it's done.