Tips & Tricks

I few brews ago I started measuring out my hops a few days before brew day. I have little resealable containers, I mark them with "1", "2", and so on in order. This has just made my brew days a little simpler. I sometimes get busy doing this or that, and having not previously measured them out, end up rushing around.
You probably don’t want to break them out if their seals until just before you are going to use them. They do oxidize. I’m not sure how quick or how much. All from what I’ve read. I’ve no experience or science.

I few brews ago I started measuring out my hops a few days before brew day.
Even in air tight containers, they may get oxidized sitting for several days. I'd advise to measure out on brew day. You can do it before you start everything and have it all set up and ready to go. I dig the hops out of the freezer and weigh out what I need into containers while the sparge is going. I sparge slow so it's easy to get things weighed and reseal everything back into the vacuum bags.

/\ /\ same except I toss the left over hops. :D

Keeping the temperature down in your fermentation chamber.
(Cooling only)

Thermowells are a great tool when used at the proper time, and for the right purpose. If you want to quickly cool you wort down 10, 15, or more degrees in your fermentation chamber, sensing the temperature close to the center is the way to make that happen. Since the wort is pretty much motionless it will take a lot more time for the center to cool than the outer portion, so the compressor will spend a lot more time on until the center reaches the set point. The down side as that you can expect to overshoot your target temperature by several degrees due to the outer areas of wort being cooled faster. Mileage may vary, but after a few batches you'll be able to estimate how much with a good degree of accuracy and compensate by raising the set point.