Hops in the boil

Denboy

Premium Member
Reaction score
ok I’m new at this and I’m reading and trying to understand something if the oils in your hop will boil out of your wort why do we put so much in the beginning and not more in the the end

Volatile oils responsible for flavor and aroma are the ones that boil off. That's why we add hops late in the boil and at flame out...so we can get the aromatic qualities in the wort. The bitterness associated with hops comes from alpha acids that take longer to assimilate into the wort. Think of it as an inverse ratio of bitterness and flavor/aroma - more bitterness = less flavor and more flavor = less bitterness. Since we want both in most beers we balance the hop additions at the beginning and near the end of the boil to get the best of both worlds. Using different varieties of hops allows us to get what we need. Some hops are extremely good for flavor and aroma but impart a harsh bitterness. Some hops are perfect for bittering but lack in the sort of flavors and aroma that are desireable for some styles.

Volatile oils responsible for flavor and aroma are the ones that boil off. That's why we add hops late in the boil and at flame out...so we can get the aromatic qualities in the wort. The bitterness associated with hops comes from alpha acids that take longer to assimilate into the wort. Think of it as an inverse ratio of bitterness and flavor/aroma - more bitterness = less flavor and more flavor = less bitterness. Since we want both in most beers we balance the hop additions at the beginning and near the end of the boil to get the best of both worlds. Using different varieties of hops allows us to get what we need. Some hops are extremely good for flavor and aroma but impart a harsh bitterness. Some hops are perfect for bittering but lack in the sort of flavors and aroma that are desireable for some styles.