Yeast for a Russian imperial stout?

Wi6673r

Trial Member
Reaction score
hey guys, I’m making a Russian imperial stout, 5 gallon batch, I’m not sure how much yeast I need or what kind? Help?

I did a 1.10 RIS with S-04. It was pitched onto a fresh cake from a 4.5 gallon batch of a light blonde ale. Took off like a rocket and fermented quickly and attenuated to over 75%

What in the heck does all that mean, I’m new at this haha, got any other pointers?

There's a few strains are suitable for a RIS.
Before we know how much yeast you need we need to know what you want from it and starting gravity.
Do you currently have a beer fermenting?
If so what is it?

What in the heck does all that mean, I’m new at this haha, got any other pointers?
Right...beginners forum...sorry. :oops:
I don't know what OG you're shooting for on your RIS, but the one I did was right at 1.100 gravity to start. A couple of weeks before I made the RIS, I had brewed up a low-gravity blonde ale with a single packet of Fermentis S-04 dry yeast to build up a larger colony of yeast. I racked the blonde out of the carboy and left the yeast and, after cooling, put the RIS right from the boil pot and into the fermenter on top of the fresh yeast sediment (called yeast cake or slurry or trub).
Even though it was a huge beer, there was enough yeast built up - probably about 4 times the original cell count in the packet of dry yeast - that it started fermenting very quickly and finished within a few days, at least in terms of reaching FG, final gravity. It aged for a while after that, of course but the yeast did its job pretty quickly. The attenuation (how much of the sugar in the wort the yeast was able to turn into alcohol) was about 75%. That's fairly typical for a lot of English yeast strains and good attenuation for a high-gravity beer like this and the ABV of the final beer was around 10%.