Mini BIAB - mash / sparge water volumes

Anth M

Trial Member
Reaction score
Howdy,

I'm an all grain mini-BIAB noob (done 2 brews) and have some questions about water quantities.

Generally I mash in a 32L pot on the stove and do a dunk sparge (sometimes I rinse over the wort, what's better?) and I want to know if it matters how I split the mash and sparge water up? For example could I always use 8L for the mash and 12L for sparge regardless of beer type? I understand if I use more water it's more "diluted" but would it balance out if you used less sparge water?

I've also noticed when trying to scale recipes the mash volume is often less, like 5-6L. So my question is, does it matter if you have more water than recommended in a mash/sparge or can that effect things? Wouldn't you still end up with the same SG if you did your calcs right?

Thanks for any input.

I use a similar size and don't bother with the sparge. I just add all the water the recipe builder tells me I'll need at the start and allow 90 minutes for the mash.

I check the gravity with a refractometer at 60, 75 and 90 minutes. If I've hit boil gravity at 60 or 75 minutes I'll pull the bag and let it drip while it comes to the boil. If I get to 90 (which is hardly ever) I'll pull the bag and start the boil while it drips regardless of the gravity.

I've recently added a sous vide stick to the setup for mashing, so it makes keeping temperatures very easy. Ends up being a very relaxing part of the brew day as I'm generally reading a book or something similar while I wait for the alarm to go off.

It depends on the amount of grain you use.
I use 3 or 3.5 Liters of water for 1 kg of malt.
Example: Batch size on fermentor. 50 Liters.
Boil Size: 60 Liters. ( I have 10 liters of losses during 60m of boil.)

So:
For 10 kg of malt, I use 30 liters for mash. 3Lt X 10Kg= 30Lt
The grain absorb aprox 1 liter for 1 kg of malt. so you really have at the end of mash 20 liters. 30Lts- 10Lts= 20Liters