Votes: 0 0.0%
  • final fermentation

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

RIBrewer

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone

I am an absolute beginner in brewing and I'd love to, if someone wants to or can, to help me with a couple of obscurities of final fermentation. In what kind of pots takes place the final fermentation of beer? Whether these containers should be under pressure for it to keep the CO2? Can I open pots during fermentation of beer or pour out that I can check the FG, layout, color? How much pressure is necessary to maintain in pots for fermentation? When the fermentation is finished, do I filter out the beer from yeast directly in bottle or other container? If pots it's not a under pressure , what happens to the CO2 created, whether it retains in beer or not? If I lose my CO2 during fermentation, can I do something to fix it?

Thank You in advance

Darko

Primary fermentation happens in a fermentation bucket with lid and an air lock inserted in lid. Maybe read John Palmers "how to brew" book to get an understanding of the brewing process and basic equipment needed.

Secondary fermentation is in the capped bottle where co2 produced is retained in the beer to give it carbonation.
Good luck with the brewing have a look at the book for a bit of a crash course in brewing beer.:)

You can also use the website of the same name. It's quite a bit shorter than the book but has most of the essential content.

It is seldom the case that any fermentation other than bottle-carbonation takes place under pressure. You may assume that you can and should fully ferment the beer with no pressure, but keeping your vessel closed at all times unless it is absolutely necessary to open it. A couple of gravity samples very late in fermentation will usually be enough to tell if it is finished.