Treating Water

FNAT

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to Brewers Friend and very new to treating my brewing water. Because of where I live I have decided to make RO water my base water. Specifically Pure Life water.

I have been reading up on the internet and in books on how to treat brewing water to get the most out of the brew but, I am still confused on a few things. I would like to connect with people who treat their water and who may be able to help me understand the process of converting a ppm count to grams of minerals to add and when to add them.

Thanks.

This site has a good tool for building water profiles. In the red menu bar at the top select tools and then scroll down to find it. As you add salts by the gram it will tell you the ppm.

This site has a good tool for building water profiles. In the red menu bar at the top select tools and then scroll down to find it. As you add salts by the gram it will tell you the ppm.

Thanks for the tip. I would like to understand it more.....I suppose I should probably just read more on the subject. I appreciate you reaching out.

There's a very good book on the subject titled "Water" from the Brewer's Association. My best advice is dechlorinate, if chlorine is an issue, and read. It's a complex subject with lots of "beer lore" wrapped around it.

Reactions: OSO
There's a very good book on the subject titled "Water" from the Brewer's Association. My best advice is dechlorinate, if chlorine is an issue, and read. It's a complex subject with lots of "beer lore" wrapped around it.

Thanks. I am reading that book now. I suppose I am being lazy and want to learn based on someones experience or being guided rather than actually learning from a book.