Stuck Stout -help

Barney A

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi There , this is my first post -Been brewing a stout with OG 1078 to hit FG of 1013 to give us a 8.5 % Stout.
Problem is we've stalled at an SG of 1017. ( commenced brewing this on 28/06/18 ) We've tried to restart with SO4 which is more resilient but no joy .
Any thoughts on our next step please- smells great and tastes good but with the higher sugar still present seems unfinished? Cheers.

Maybe you're just out of fermentable sugar? Perhaps due to high mash temp? I'm a rookie so I'm doing a wild guess... :)

I believe theres plenty of fermentable sugar there but my thinking is that the yeast may have been killed off by a combination of higher ABV and also temp . We tried to cool the brew down but it reached 28ºc at one point and was heading North. Currently ambient is 22ºc and thats the same temp as the brew -so its sat there and is doing nothing and the Sg has remained the same for 6 days even with a new shot of yeast..

You're already at 78% attenuation Not sure how you arrived at an estimate of 1.013 for FG but that would give you 83% attenuation and pretty unlikely with a beer that big.
Your S-04 wouldn't have done anything being that it's average attenuation is below 75%. Nottingham might have given you a point or two but I think you're just out of oxygen and no yeast is going to do anything.
I'd say you're done and done. Chalk it up, bottle it up, drink up and enjoy! :)

ABV at 8.5% won't stop beer yeast. My first guess is insufficient oxygen at pitch. The yeast got tired and quit. Second guess is the fermentation is finished. 1.017 doesn't sound bad for a 8.5% beer. Third guess is that the fermentation is still going on, but slowly. There is a residual sugar test using reagent tablets, Clinitest, I believe, but they're hard to find and pricey. Recommendation: RDWHAHB. It will finish or it won't. High gravity fermentation is hard to predict.