Foam at the top of the fermentation barrel

THIRSTYinDESERT

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I am new to this business. I live in a dry country which prohibits sale or manufacture beverages

I decided to make my own alcohol in the simplest way: water sugar and yeast
I sterilized the tools and the fermentation barrel and airlock. I bboiled the water with the sugar and after cooling the mixture I added yeast
After 6 hours I found at the top of the fermentation barrel big bubbles (foam) as in the picture;
Is this normal??
Is it safe to drink?
IMG_4909.jpg

Quite normal. You’ll want to wait until the foam (krausen) settles. I’m guessing you have no hydrometer, so wait a day or two after airlock activity stops. It should be done or near done then. Will you bottle it, or bottoms up?

Quite normal. You’ll want to wait until the foam (krausen) settles. I’m guessing you have no hydrometer, so wait a day or two after airlock activity stops. It should be done or near done then. Will you bottle it, or bottoms up?
THANK A LOT
big releviw
THANKS jeffpn:)
huge relief

thats called kerosene and the yeast are eating sugar and going up for air creating foam in the process and thats good, that means their happy and ready to eat more sugar and create more alcohol, the only bad thing I can see is its not going to taste real good with just sugar but it will create alcohol

look up distilling :) thats what you might wanna do with this onw boil off the alcohol and use it to make something a bit harder than beer. i know nothing about spirits but.

other than that man you probably wont like it as is meaning it may not have alot of flavour.

good luck post on tasting please;).

Legally, it's Wine, although I doubt you'll be drinking it with your pinky sticking out.
Someone mentioned distilling, which is illegal and may need to be removed.