Membership price

I don’t know the owner of BF. Ignorance is bliss, I suppose. I’m only here because a couple years back a friend of mine showed me BF when he was devising a recipe. It’s what he uses. If he used BS, I suppose I would be using that instead. BF does what I want it to do. I think it does it well.

I've been brewing for just over a year now and originally stumbled across BF during my initial YouTube and Googling of anything and everything I could find about home brewing. What I found most valuable about BF is the community of helpful Brewers. It seemed that friendly advise for homebrewers questions were found here than in the other forums where people can be... well... mean. And to a person just getting into home brewing, having a welcoming dialogue vs smart-ass responses can be the difference between screw this, or hey... this is fun.

So Brewers Friend was/is my go-to place for quite sometime before I started brewing and will be as long as the forums are free.

Admittedly I use the calculators on the site and the ones I use are :

- ABV
- Brewhouse efficiency
- Yeast Pitch
- Refractometer
- Brewhouse Efficiency

All of the above can be found elsewhere and I will leave it to others to discuss if the ones on BF are better or not.

I paid for the iPhone app for the yeast Pitch calculator. (Why doesn't the annual subscription price cover that?)

So at the end of the day, I feel that the biggest value on BF is the community, and that is priceless.

I have vented my frustration about the price and value in another thread, so I won't rehash that here again, however I too will not be renewing my membership as the real value of BF has become the community. Hopefully BF won't make that part of the paid subscription.

Last edited:
I guess I just don't understand the hullabaloo about roughly 2 bucks a month.
Don't get Starbucks for one day, and you've paid for brewers friend for 3 months