Preventing trub from getting to the primary

bcarroll

Trial Member
Reaction score
I'm new to all-grain brewing and I'm doing a small batch (1 gal) / brew in a bag type process. I'm on batch #4 at this point. I would like to reduce the amount of trub and hop residue that gets into my primary. I know how to deal with the hops, that should be taken care of next brew. I don't know what to do about trub.

I have noticed that the screens that come with funnels will catch some of this, but they clog up quickly, partly because their surface area is very small. The fact that they work has me wondering if something like a grease screen would work also. They tend to be quite a bit larger, 13 in diameter seems common. I believe the weave is tighter than a normal strainer. Anyone ever try this?

My other thought is a settling approach where I would let the wort settle for a half day and then transfer from 1 jug to another, leaving most of the trub behind. Anyone try this?

How are you transferring to your primary?

For me most trub is settled after the chilling and I use a syphon and hold it so it doesnt touch the bottom.

How are you transferring to your primary?

For me most trub is settled after the chilling and I use a syphon and hold it so it doesnt touch the bottom.

I have been using a small sauce pan to ladle the wort and pouring into my jug via a funnel. That definitely stirs up all the trub making it unavoidable.

Whirlpooling has never worked for me, my pot is too small. But then, the break material in primary won't hurt anything. Try to keep the hop debris out of it but the break - flavorless proteins - won't hurt a thing.

It'll sort itself out in the fermentor just rack off the top of the trub once fermentation is done. Just my 2c letting that wort sit around waiting for the trub to settle may introduce more risk of contamination defeating the purpose of trying to remove the trub in the first place.