Keg Conditioning

Myndflyte

Trial Member
Reaction score
I'm going to finally keg my first beer next weekend and I'm still trying to wrap my head around conditioning. When I bottled, I'd let the bottles sit for at least a month before I began even touching them. I know this was to obviously carb it up but it usually got better as it conditioned.

So does anyone condition beer when it's kegged? Or does it even need to be conditioned? I guess I don't quite understand why we leave some beer in bottles for 3 months to condition but something like that isn't necessary for kegging.

I'm still fairly new to kegging, but I'd still say that the beer does get better with a little age in a keg

I seem to recall a few other threads about keg conditioning here too

Is it beneficial to flush the headspace with CO2 and clear out the oxygen and let it sit warm for a month or so before cooling it down and carbing it?

If you're strictly talking carbonation, then yes it does take time for a keg to condition. Use less corn sugar than you do when bottling a batch, say 1/2 C instead of 3/4 C. It'll still take 3 weeks or so. When kegging, you have the option to force carb. If you hook up your serving pressure CO2 line and let it sit on a cold keg, it'll take a couple weeks for the CO2 to infuse into the beer. I force carb my kegs. After the keg has chilled, I'll hook up a 30 lb line of CO2 and shake the keg for about 4 minutes. The next day, it's drinkable by my standard (the only standard I care about).

Your ending carbonation level is determined by two factors, beer temperature and CO2 line pressure. Look up a chart on force carbing for more info.

I flush out the head space when kegging, and force carb the next day. If you're using priming sugar, yes, the keg will need to sit warm for 3-4 weeks.