Muddy Brown Beer

Warne2020

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi
I am new to the brewing process and have just opened a NEIPA recipie (prob a bit ambitious for 2nd batch) and upon pouring the beer out of the bottle is brown/muddy. The SRM was supposed to be 9.25 so something has gone wrong? Any ideas on what has gone wrong or more importantly any way of fixing it? It has been bottle conditioning for 2 weeks. Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Attachments

• F466F980-C56D-42D7-A8F0-8F083D227525.jpeg
    F466F980-C56D-42D7-A8F0-8F083D227525.jpeg
    122.1 KB · Views: 188
Looks like a bad pour.
When you're bottling it's best to start with cold-crashed, clear beer for priming. Even if it's still cloudy when you bottle, it'll eventually settle out.
Leave it undisturbed in the fridge for a week, handle it carefully, pour slowly and stop when you see some of the sediment from the bottom starting to pour out. You'll end up leaving an ounce or two in the bottom of the bottle but your glass will have a nice clear pour.

Awesome great. Thanks for the reply. It wasn’t cloudy when I initially bottled but I’ll put the rest of the bottles in the fridge and see the results after a week. This bottle (and another) we only refrigerated for 2 days!

Reactions: J A
What was the grain bill? The SRM in your picture looks like it would be in the 20’s. Agreed that it’s cloudy, but not sure settling will give you the yellow/gold color of a standard NEIPA.

Thanks for the help Semper. The grain bill was.
2.25kg Pale Ale (Joe White) Trad Ale
0.630 kg of Wheat Malt (Joe White)
0.500 kg of Rolled Oats
0.420 kg Meloinidin (Castle) (sure the spelling is not right on that one

One thing I forgot to ask was, what is the batch size? Two possibilities in my mind. Melanoidin could be the culprit as this malt, usually used in darker beers, imparts a dark reddish color to the final product.