Yeast info

Vallka

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
OK, this topic has probably been beat to death for years, but I'll ask again. I'm new to break down a few all grain batches that it turned out very well. Now I want to take another step. Yeast, my next batch calls for just over 200 billion cells but the snack pack only has 100 billion. Can someone point me in the direction of a good YouTube video or article that can help me turn 1 billion into 2 billion cells.
( oh and if you could do this with cash as well I do going to look at that article )

just curious what size is your batch and what’s the starting gravity

Simple starter...pitch the yeast in a couple of liters of 1.032 sterilized wort (no hops) in a clean beaker or jar with foil over the top. Shake it up a few times over 18 to 24 hours and let it ferment out. When it stops, put it in the fridge and cool it down so that the yeast settles to the bottom. Pour off the liquid and pitch the yeast in your 5 gallons of wort.
You can get more complicated than that in a number of ways, but that's all that's really necessary.

I'm brewing 23 Liters or 6.?? US Gallons, this upcoming Amber Ale should be 1.049 OG
Been using MongoIPA's Excel worksheet......it is amazing

Hey thank for the help guy's/gal's much appreciated
Troy

for that amount you don't really need 2000 cells just use 1 pack you'll be fine, its kind of on the border of 1 vs 2 packs but a good starter will do it, I really gave up on adding more than 1 pack on anything under 1060, I've always had good luck, since 1 pack will take a day or 2 longer to replicate, you need a day or 2 longer to ferment