Water Filter Setup

Nola_Brew

Lifetime Member
Reaction score
Is anyone using a carbon block filter for brewing water in stead of a RO system?
I've been using filtered water from one of those stand alone machines but I noticed the last time I got water there it wasn't the best tasting.

Don't want to spend the bucks for a RO system unless I can find a decent one for under $100.
I did find this one, https://www.amazon.com/Portable-Rev...95334&sr=8-16&keywords=ro+water+filter+system, but not sure of the quality.

I also saw this one, https://www.amazon.com/Reverse-Osmo...95334&sr=8-13&keywords=ro+water+filter+system.

Then I thought about just getting a filter housing and a.5 micron carbon block filter to use. Only problem with that is I have no idea how I would treat the water.
What do you guys suggest?

I use a 2 stage carbon filter system. I used to replace the filters twice a year before I started brewing like crazy. Now I replace them thrice a year.

Very much like that. Mine is made by whirlpool. I think it's been discontinued, but the filters are still for sale.

Very much like that. Mine is made by whirlpool. I think it's been discontinued, but the filters are still for sale.
Do you use a carbon block filter in both or a .5 micron in the first one and a carbon block in the 2nd?
Do you also add campden tablets?

I use a carbon filter designed for in-line use when filling the potable water tanks in an RV. Much cheaper and works fine!

The filters come in a 2 pack. I don't know what the difference between them is. Those filters are also the extent of my water treatment. No campden or anything else.

This the filter I use.

http://low.es/2cUdbgv

Best filter Ive used so far and I built my own set up, quick connects and also comes apart

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000246SMS/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i02?ie=UTF8&psc=1
41S+FxnLnxL._SX425_.jpg

WP_20161005_001.jpg