Water Calc Bug

Discussion in 'Calculator Support Forum' started by Val89, Dec 7, 2022.

  1. Val89

    Val89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hello brewers! Hope I'm doing this right as I didn't find any bug report form.

    I noticed that the g/l unit of measure doesn't work in the Acid Addition tab of the Water Calc, spercifically while using 100% Citric Acid, although I suspect that might also not work with other acids or other concentration units of measure. By "doesn't work" I mean that the calculator is not taking into account any acid amount you might set with that unit of measure. I hope this small bug can get fixed easily and soon, Water Calc is a great tool and I think using concentration (g/l) rather than amount (g) makes things easier when you have to change water amounts on the spot. Cheers!
     
    Pricelessbrewing likes this.
  2. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Are you using the standalone advanced water calc? I will take a look.
     
  3. Val89

    Val89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    The one generated from and linked to the recipe, so not the standalone I guess. I think there wasn't even an option for concentration unit of measures in the past, but I've noticed it was added later and I wanted to use it. Thanks a lot, would be great!
     
    Yooper likes this.
  4. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing BF Software Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    1,164
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Things seem to be working in my tests @Val89, can you provide the recipe you're using and a screenshot with the details so we can get to the root cause?
     
    Yooper likes this.
  5. Val89

    Val89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Sure! That's the mash chemistry page where I get the bug. Both from up-to-date Firefox under Windows 10 and from Chrome on my Android phone!

    https://www.brewersfriend.com/mash-chemistry-and-brewing-water-calculator/?id=7K42XVN

    And that's the recipe page and edit recipe page. I hope you can access it even if I didn't make it public, otherwise I might need some directions on how to share it. I usually access the water calc page from the edit recipe page, making sure it's linked to that specific recipe.

    https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/1310140/secretariat-27l

    https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/edit/1310140

    And here's two screenshots from my phone. As you can see the mash pH is only affected by the acid addition when expressed in grams.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Pricelessbrewing likes this.
  6. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    5,708
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    when your editing a recipe, just above the more square is the share button then save the recipe, hope that helps
     
  7. Val89

    Val89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks, I did share it!
     
    Pricelessbrewing and Donoroto like this.
  8. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    W
    What happens if you use a . instead of a , in the numbers? like: 5.4 or .27?
     
    Pricelessbrewing likes this.
  9. Val89

    Val89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I did try that as some calculators used to be sensitive to the comma-dot difference (I believe they fixed that) and it didn't make any difference. I tried it right now to be sure and I can confirm it doesn't affect it, sadly. Thanks for the help tho!
     

Share This Page

arrow_white