Suggestions For a First Lager attempt

TheZel66

Trial Member
Reaction score
I've been brewing for over 20 years now. I've just found the equipment to make a lager. Anyone out there have an idea for what to make for my first lager recipe, one that's pretty fault free, for a newbie lager brewer to try as his first lager recipe? no fuss yeast?

My first lager (just a few months ago after twenty years of brewing) was a Brewer's Best extract kit called Munich Helles. I don't think they make it any more. Since I brewed that, I've started doing BIAB. I converted their extract recipe to an all grain recipe and I continue to brew it often. It's the only recipe I have that I've shared here so far. What method of brewing do you use? BIAB, extract, etc.? I have the data sheet for their extract recipe if you're interested.

All grain.... Fly sparge

Thinking just some American 2-row, cascade hops, and White Labs Mexican Lager yeast

Munich Helles: German Pilsner malt, hallertau hops, lager yeast, no room to hide mistakes. Best way I can think of to break in a new process.

If you could get your hands on some White Labs WLP860 Helles Lager Yeast it would be great. It's seasonal, coming out in the Spring, so it's likely not easily available. That stuff is like magic! Fast-fermenting, clean, not tempermental, no sulphur (unless it's underpitched), no dicetyl. Drops like a rock but still carbs up well for bottle conditioning. I'm on my 3rd batch off the same cake. Haven't gotten one through an extended lagering, but even with few days of chilling, it tastes great - not super crisp and clean, yet, but really a nice beer.
I think WLP 830 is the go-to that's available year round?
Any basic Helles or Pils recipe will do well for you... 80 to 90% pilsner, a little Vienna, maybe some melanoidin or acidulated, an ounce of Hallertau at 60 minutes and a couple ounces of Hallertau or Tettnanger at 10 and 5.
Good luck! Lagers are fun! ;)