Splitting brew day

WesBrew

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
I’ve been doing this for about 6 months with great results. Recommended by someone when I was complaining about length of brew day .
At night I prep hlt, heat water, mill grains into mash tun. Run the mash. Mash out. Sparge into kettle put the lid on, Clean up. 2.5 hrs. Wort should be pasteurized.
In the morning I turn on kettle. After boil starts, go have coffee n whatever, finish boil, chill . Transfer to fermenter and clean up. Also about 2.5 hours.
Wondering what others process is , particularly with pasteurization. some raise to a boil the night before. some leave on all night . I felt like it was handled with the mash

I’ve been doing this for about 6 months with great results. Recommended by someone when I was complaining about length of brew day .
At night I prep hlt, heat water, mill grains into mash tun. Run the mash. Mash out. Sparge into kettle put the lid on, Clean up. 2.5 hrs. Wort should be pasteurized.
In the morning I turn on kettle. After boil starts, go have coffee n whatever, finish boil, chill . Transfer to fermenter and clean up. Also about 2.5 hours.
Wondering what others process is , particularly with pasteurization. some raise to a boil the night before. some leave on all night . I felt like it was handled with the mash
I was recently looking into this, and I think as long as you hit proper mash out temps (about 168F) it should be fine

A buddy of mine does that regularly, but I don't know his complete process. My last brew I took advantage of my Brewzilla with pump, and timers, and let it mash all morning while I worked. More or less split the brew day up into two distinct sessions.

I've also read about some people leaving the mash running over night (without pumps/recirculation) and lauter/sparge the next day. It will result in a highly fermentable wort, and probably not best suited for some beer styles