Set IBUs for hop additions?

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by jmcnamara, Apr 25, 2018.

  1. jmcnamara

    jmcnamara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rosedale, MD
    Similar to the new feature for the grain bill, can we do something with the hops where we can set a certain IBU addition and the aa% and it would auto calculate the amount to add?
    I've seen a few recipes use those instead. And it would help if I want to rebrew a recipe, but the aa% has changed
     
  2. KC

    KC Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    NY Capital
    I would use such a feature. Default hop AA% in the editor is almost always different from the package. I have to adjust amounts in every snapshot to match the intent of the original recipe. Likewise if I have to use a substitute and it's an 8% instead of a 6%.
     
    jmcnamara likes this.
  3. jmcnamara

    jmcnamara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rosedale, MD
    Exactly what I was thinking, thanks for saying it more clearly :)
     
  4. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    So you're saying that you'd put in "50 IBUs" for the first addition, and have it calculate? And then "12 IBUs" for the second, etc? I'm trying to understand what you're visualizing here.
     
  5. jmcnamara

    jmcnamara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rosedale, MD
    Exactly. So instead of us putting in the weight and AA and the software calculating the IBU, we'd put in the IBU and AA and it would calculate the weight.
    Not sure how the UI would be, but I think something like the new OG / % feature for the grain bill might work?
     
  6. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Ok, I understand what you're saying. Thanks for explaining it more thoroughly. Let me stew on this for a bit and I'm sure I'll ask more questions as they come up, and then bring it to the developers.

    Thanks for the suggestion- I love new ideas!
     
    jmcnamara likes this.
  7. jmcnamara

    jmcnamara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rosedale, MD
    oh no, thank you!
     

Share This Page

arrow_white