RECIPE NOT SCALING CORRECTLY

Discussion in 'Calculator Support Forum' started by SeanKTM300, Apr 11, 2020.

  1. SeanKTM300

    SeanKTM300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Tried to scale a 200 L recipe down to 120 L with the scaling calculator. Numbers came out waaaaay off.

    Using FireFox and/or Safari on an iMAC. Any similar problems ?
     
  2. Steve SPF

    Steve SPF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    507
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I scaled one yesterday, 80lt down to 20lt so very easy to check the maths, and it came out right as expected.
     
  3. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Can you give me a link to the recipe you're scaling? I need to check it out if you're having problems.
     
  4. SeanKTM300

    SeanKTM300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you. Trying to scale the 200 L Danie Pale ale to 120 L Danie Pale ale. In my recipe selection. Have made both public so you can see them.
     
    Yooper likes this.
  5. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    One of the issues I'm having with even starting to scale is that the boil hops don't have any time listed and my error says that you have to give a hop a name when you add it to the recipe:
    upload_2020-4-11_9-54-7.png

    It could be that this is NOT the issue, but I can't go any further with those errors.
    upload_2020-4-11_9-55-26.png
     

    Attached Files:

  6. SeanKTM300

    SeanKTM300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you. Let me try that.
     
    Yooper likes this.
  7. SeanKTM300

    SeanKTM300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Right now I've tried everything.

    As soon as I save and leave the page the recipe does it's own thing and when I open it again it's garbilled. I've got a printed out version to prove it. This is seriously wasting my time. In Safari it will not scale at all so I've had to specially now move to Firefox to do Brewers Friend.

    Think it's Beersmith for me in the near future. I can't go in like this. You comment above refers "One of the issues I'm having with even starting to scale is that the boil hops don't have any time listed and my error says that you have to give a hop a name when you add it to the recipe" Well when i checked on my printed vesrion all the info was there, I saved and then when you opened it again it had changed.

    Always been a supporter of BF but now not happy.
     
  8. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    I agree that this is unacceptable. I've contacted the site owner about this, and let him know of your frustration. We need to fix this, and fix it now.
     
  9. J A

    J A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,474
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Deja vu all over again! :rolleyes:
     
  10. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    ?????????
     
  11. Blackmuse

    Blackmuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    933
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrician (Previously a 6th grade Teacher)
    Location:
    Maine
    Home Page:
    Can you share the links here? I can't find the recipes using the search feature...
     
  12. J A

    J A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,474
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Just hoping it's not another round of bugs and dysfunctions in the calculator software.
     
  13. Megary

    Megary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1,748
    Trophy Points:
    93
    But this thread is 4 months old. o_O

    Your post above made me think there was a reoccurrence of an old problem.
     
  14. Blackmuse

    Blackmuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    933
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrician (Previously a 6th grade Teacher)
    Location:
    Maine
    Home Page:
    Well shoot dang! So it is! I hadn't realized that... I suppose the brewer has either figured it out by now or moved on...
     
  15. J A

    J A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,474
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Just checked in and didn't check the date...never mind! :)
    I'm sure everything is running smoothly, then. I hven't tried to use the recipe builder lately and I'm hoping that all the issues are behind us. :)
     
  16. SeanKTM300

    SeanKTM300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Not so fast. The software continues to fail to save and do other odd things. I'm using OS X Yosemite with Firefox 78.1.0 esr
     
  17. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    I can't recreate any issues- I use Chrome and Windows 10 and chrome and iOS 13.6 on iPad and iPhone.
    Can you give us a screenshot of what is happening? It could be a mac issue that I can't recreate with my devices.
     
  18. Blackmuse

    Blackmuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    933
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrician (Previously a 6th grade Teacher)
    Location:
    Maine
    Home Page:
    I use chrome on my MAC and don't have any issues.

    - As for the hop error you've been getting, try clicking in the drop-down menu that says "boil" and just re-selecting "boil". Sounds dumb but it worked for me the other day...
     

Share This Page

arrow_white