Recipe Efficiency and Different Equipment Profiles

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by PutnamBrew, May 12, 2018.

  1. PutnamBrew

    PutnamBrew Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Putnam/Dayville, CT
    I have a few recipes built with a particular efficiency (76%), however there is a 2nd system I brew on that is more efficient (82%). All of the recipies are based off of the 76%. Is there a way by changing equipment used in the brew session, that it'll also change the efficiency? I'll click a recipe, hit brew and select the other brewing equipment profile, however it shows the efficiency when the recipe was designed. I would rather see the numbers based on the equipment for the same recipe. Is this possible at all or do I go ahead, make a copy of the recipe with the other efficiency numbers?
     
  2. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,425
    Likes Received:
    9,482
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    im sure its in your brew profile so when you click brew it asks you witch profile your using and you click on profile 1 or 2.

    you gotta create and save your differnt profiles to your different brew system...
     
  3. PutnamBrew

    PutnamBrew Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Putnam/Dayville, CT
    I made sure I did that and have been trying it with different recipes. It keeps the same brew house efficiency regardless of the equipment profile selected.
     
  4. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,425
    Likes Received:
    9,482
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    maybe a calculator glitch. ive only one profile. maybe manually lower efficency on other equiment setting PITA i know.
     
  5. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    We're taking a look now at a way to "stick" the efficiency into the equipment profile. I'll keep you posted!
     
  6. PutnamBrew

    PutnamBrew Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Putnam/Dayville, CT
    Thanks for the Reply! What I've done in the mean time is make a duplicate of the Recipe, just change efficiency for the equipment and renamed it accordingly. Works for me! I don't know why I haven't been using Brewers Friend sooner. I used to use iBrewMaster on my IOS Devices but they have stopped supporting it. I like how this one is web based and easy to figure out/use.
     
  7. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    That's the "workaround" I was going to suggest, but I really like the idea of having it in the equipment profile so you don't need a workaround. We're looking into how hard it will be for the developer to incorporate it, and if it's not a big job it may be done very quickly.
     
  8. uk_brewer

    uk_brewer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    396
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    West Dundee, IL
    I’d love this feature. Having a 3 vessel rims and a braumeister would be nice having a quick way to have the recipe adjust for system specific efficiency and loses.
     
    PutnamBrew, Head First and Yooper like this.

Share This Page

arrow_white