Problem with Mash PH calculator

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by Melee Brewing, Mar 21, 2021.

1. Melee Brewing

Melee Brewing New Member

Hi everyone. I've been using Brewer's Friend for a few years now and love it but I've run into a wonky issue with Mash Ph that I can't seem to understand. I have two water profiles saved in BF, one for distilled water at 8 ph and one for RO water at 5.6 ph. So, what confuses me is that when I switch between those two water sources in Brewer's friend, it doesn't change the predicted Mash ph. I have tried in the recipe editor and in the water calc section with linked recipe. Any thoughts? How can it be that the ph of the source water wouldn't have any impact on the mash ph?

Any help would be appreciated.

2. Sunfire96

Sunfire96 Well-Known Member

Animal Keeper
    Unfortunately, pH of the mash is not just a result of the pH of the water. Calcium and carbonate ions, alkalinity, and probably more things, all work together in the mash. It also has to do with how titratable, or buffered, your solution is.

Here's a good series of articles to start with if you would like more info:
    https://www.brewersfriend.com/2017/11/19/brewing-water-basics-part-1/

Pricelessbrewing likes this.
  3. Melee Brewing

Melee Brewing New Member

Hello. Thanks for the reply. I have read through that article and a million others :) I get it that there are lots of factors that affect pH, but in this case there is only one variable. My two source water profiles are identical in every way (zeroes for all) except for pH with distilled set at 8 and my RO profile at 5.7.

4. Nosybear

Nosybear Well-Known Member