Problem with Mash PH calculator

Melee Brewing

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I've been using Brewer's Friend for a few years now and love it but I've run into a wonky issue with Mash Ph that I can't seem to understand. I have two water profiles saved in BF, one for distilled water at 8 ph and one for RO water at 5.6 ph. So, what confuses me is that when I switch between those two water sources in Brewer's friend, it doesn't change the predicted Mash ph. I have tried in the recipe editor and in the water calc section with linked recipe. Any thoughts? How can it be that the ph of the source water wouldn't have any impact on the mash ph?

Any help would be appreciated.

Unfortunately, pH of the mash is not just a result of the pH of the water. Calcium and carbonate ions, alkalinity, and probably more things, all work together in the mash. It also has to do with how titratable, or buffered, your solution is.

Here's a good series of articles to start with if you would like more info:
https://www.brewersfriend.com/2017/11/19/brewing-water-basics-part-1/

Unfortunately, pH of the mash is not just a result of the pH of the water. Calcium and carbonate ions, alkalinity, and probably more things, all work together in the mash. It also has to do with how titratable, or buffered, your solution is.

Here's a good series of articles to start with if you would like more info:
https://www.brewersfriend.com/2017/11/19/brewing-water-basics-part-1/
Hello. Thanks for the reply. I have read through that article and a million others :) I get it that there are lots of factors that affect pH, but in this case there is only one variable. My two source water profiles are identical in every way (zeroes for all) except for pH with distilled set at 8 and my RO profile at 5.7.