Needing some recipe assistance please.

CoFlyGuy

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
I had a buddy give me a small batch recipe that he wrote down for me. I seem to be having some calculation issues on my end or maybe he was off. Not really sure. Anyway, when entering my Hops, he calls for a CZT (11.4). I can't seem to find anything like that listed in the Hops list. I did find the CZT 15.5. Am I missing something or is there a part of the boil that will get me closer to that number?

I am very new to this so trying to get the basics down and then run from there.

Thanks for all your assistance folks.

I had a buddy give me a small batch recipe that he wrote down for me. I seem to be having some calculation issues on my end or maybe he was off. Not really sure. Anyway, when entering my Hops, he calls for a CZT (11.4). I can't seem to find anything like that listed in the Hops list. I did find the CZT 15.5. Am I missing something or is there a part of the boil that will get me closer to that number?

Are you taking about the alpha acid percentage of the hop? You can enter a custom amount in a box next to the hop name

Also feel free to post the entire recipe in the Recipe Feedback subforum and we'd be happy to answer any questions you have :D

The number appears to be the AA (alpha acid) of the hops. Hops AA values change every harvest, so what you can buy is likely not identical to what is on yhe list. As @Sunfire96 wrote, just over write the correct AA and fiddle with the quantity and timing to get close to the desired IBU.

The number appears to be the AA (alpha acid) of the hops. Hops AA values change every harvest, so what you can buy is likely not identical to what is on yhe list. As @Sunfire96 wrote, just over write the correct AA and fiddle with the quantity and timing to get close to the desired IBU.