Mash PH not correct

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by Rhymeswithoranj, Jan 19, 2020.

  1. Rhymeswithoranj

    Rhymeswithoranj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    SO, I spent some time tweaking water profiles. Have a couple set up for my most common brews. In the water calc page, with the grist entered, PH is always where I expect it. However, as soon as I enter that calc into a recipe, it drops a lot - this one: https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/935854/xpa-baby
    shows a mash PH of 3.22, instead of 5.3 (as per water calc). What am I doing wrong? or is it messed up somewhere.
     
  2. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,469
    Likes Received:
    9,555
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    Is it something to do with batch size 23lt but 17 lt post boil may put the calculator out of wack
    I see predicted ph as 5.1 too lo lo bro
     
  3. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    506
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Could you provide the water profile you're using, and screenshots of your inputs in the water calculator?
     
  4. Rhymeswithoranj

    Rhymeswithoranj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
  5. Rhymeswithoranj

    Rhymeswithoranj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yeah. Weird. It’s changed all by itself.
     
  6. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    506
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    So the problem has corrected itself?

    I'll attempt to recreate to find any bug and report to the devs accordingly.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white