Is a secondary necessary?

Doz

Trial Member
Reaction score
I’ve always thought so but think I’m going to stop, what do you lot think?

I rarely use a secondary. I used to swear by it, but not anymore. I even lager in the primary to reduce o2 ingress.

I have only been brewing for about a year and a half, have never used a secondary, and have been making some damn fine beers!

It's down to the needs of the beer for me. If I'm lagering, "secondary", that is, conditioning, is necessary. If not, it's more of a question of how long I'm going to age the beer and do I need the fermentor.

I don’t do a secondary for ales. Less stuff to clean and no difference in the final product. I do keg, which handles sediment well. If bottling, I might consider a secondary.

When I started brewing it was believed that transferring your beer off of the yeast was absolutely necessary to prevent autolysis. Over the course of the past 10+ years this belief has been dispelled, along with many others that were once thought to be Gospel. In the homebrewing world autolysis is very rare, even when leaving a beer in primary for as long as 2 months or more. Unless you're bulk aging a beer, the possibility of oxygenation or contamination isn't worth any possible benefit I can see.

I don’t do a secondary for ales. Less stuff to clean and no difference in the final product. I do keg, which handles sediment well. If bottling, I might consider a secondary.

Yeah, I'm with W but I have and will secondary when lagering so the brew is not sitting on any funky stuff for too long. As others point out, it used to be all the rage in homebrewing but from what I hear and have read in my short time at this endeavor is that secondary is frequently another chance for either contamination, oxidation or something else to go wrong! So I guess the advice is do it when the brew calls for it but not every time and keep it clean!