Hops for

LaksenBaksen

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm pretty new to home brewing. I would like to make a recipe for fresh wheat beer, I can brew this summer.

I got a wheat beer recently called "Edelweiss snowfresh", it had strong flower notes and taste, it was like standing on a flowerbed. I want the beer from my own recipe to be a bit like it

- Does anyone in here have experiences with hops that have floral character? and is there anyone you can recommend? I am thinking of using "Hallertau mittelfrüh" myself.

I would also like to hear how you would add the hops. I expect to come in a little bit at the start of the boil for bitterness, and the rest in a hop-stand at 77 C for 15 min

kind regards

First, check the Brewer's website. They may tell you what hops they use. For floral, i think Crystal.

Tettnanger is a noble hop that will give plenty of floral quality. Hybrid noble hops like Hallertau Blanc can bring some interesting notes as well including floral and white wine.

^^^Saaz has a much more spicy bite with less floral quality than a lot of noble hops. It's not usually sought for lighter-flavored beers like a hefe. Tettenang is the hop most associated with Hefeweisen style beers.
To the OP, I thought of another couple of hops that you might research, too...Saphir and Opal are noble-cross hops that I've used before and they both offer a very mild spiciness, a little sweet citrus and a lot of floral aromatics.

Hi everybody and many thanks for the answers.

I'm thinking about using a combination of Tettnanger and Hallertau Blanc or Hallertau Mittelfruh

Wherever I might come to Tettnanger in early for bitterness and again late for aroma along with Hallertau Blanc or Hallertau Mittelfruh.