Help with recipe

Mark10409

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello,
Im looking for a little help with a Brewers Friend recipe, its the Orange Honey Wheat, Looked really good to me. Im still very new to all grain brewing. My question was on the boil size: 5 gallons. What I was thinking of doing was after the mash (6.5qt.) was done do the 60 min boil and after it is done I could just add water to get to the 3 gallon batch size? or am I missing something? Any help would be appreciated. I have attached the recipe.

Thanks,
Mark

Attachments

• OrangeHoneyWheat.txt
    1.3 KB · Views: 107
You have to sparge with the rest of the water and you have to be sure that your system is such that you can count on 2 full gallons of boil off in 60 minutes. Most likely you'll be better off assuming less boil-off.
Do you know what your boil off rate is? What sort of mash tun do you have? Are you doing BIAB?
Your mash schedule would probably be more like 7 qts for a single infusion of 154, 3 qts of boiling water for mash-out infusion, 8 qts of approx.170 degree water for sparge.

You have to sparge with the rest of the water and you have to be sure that your system is such that you can count on 2 full gallons of boil off in 60 minutes. Most likely you'll be better off assuming less boil-off.
Do you know what your boil off rate is? What sort of mash tun do you have? Are you doing BIAB?
Your mash schedule would probably be more like 7 qts for a single infusion of 154, 3 qts of boiling water for mash-out infusion, 8 qts of approx.170 degree water for sparge.

J A, Thanks for replying. So far to date Ive done a few alternative methods not using mash tun. I doubt if I could boil off 1/4 gallon in 60 min. :) I can figure out my boil off rate is, but unknown at this time. Thanks for the added data to get this going, appreciate your help. Thanks, Mark

In any pot that can hold up to 5 gallons, you should be boiling off at least 3-4 quarts per hour. Be sure you're boiling and not just simmering.