Czech Lager Starter

Craigerrr

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Doing a starter as the yeast I got (for half price) was getting close to it's best before date. I have never used any kind of lager yeast before. How long it should take for it to take off? I pitched about 12-13 hours ago, no sign of activity yet. The use before date is January 2nd.

No sign of krausen ring BTW
20201231_085133.jpg

I am still a relative newbie, so that this for what it is worth

Lager yeast is often far slower than Ale yeast; a lag of a few days in primary is not alarming. Also in a starter. But you should see something after 24 hours. I assume that's at room temperature?

Give it a bit more time before you conclude it's dead.

If it doesn't kick in, and you are in a pickle, go with Fermentis S-23 dry yeast. A Fermentis employee wavered on providing me a direct answer, but if inferred between the lines nigh-on confirmed to me that S-23 is at least from the same tightly woven genetic source pool as for the famous Czech Premium Pilsner yeast strain, only rendered into dry form. Ferment it right cold. 50 degrees F. (10 degrees C.)

The unmentioned one is said to ferment at about 8 degrees C. as I recall, but it does not appear that S-23 has been officially tested/confirmed at that low of a temperature. If going with 8 degrees C, proceed at your own risk, and be sure to tell us how it turns out please. My guess is that it will work, but take a long time.

Last edited:
Never buy old yeast. Even if yeast is kept in perfect conditions, the die-off rate is high. Anywhere close to the expiration date is very iffy. Any yeast in a starter, including lager yeast will take off pretty quickly, assuming that your temp is in the mid-60s. You got a DOA. Ask for your money back from whoever you bought it from. They know they sold you something that wasn't going to work.