Compensate lost OG with Light DME

Dodge

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi
I have only done 3 batches so far. So I’m pretty new at this.
I use these complete beerkits, were all the grain and hops are prepared and measured. But I can’t hit the desired OG.(written on the kit)
I miss by about 5-10 points.
I heard that I can add light DME to the boil to compensate for that, but my question is, would it affect the taste? Considering I may have to use almost 1kg of light DME in worst case.

What type of brewing are you doing? All grain, partial mash, or extract?

You can add DME to bump the OG.
If you still want to look into the reason why you are missing the OG.... (if not for any other reason, it bumps up the cost of the brew.)
When and what temperature do you take hydrometer readings? Or are you using a refractometer?
If using a hydrometer, check calibration. http://www.brewersfriend.com/2010/12/19 ... esomeness/
There should also be a temperature posted on the hydrometer, mine is calibrated for 60 deg F but it depends on the hydrometer, if you aren't taking the readings at that temp then utilize the temp adjustment tool here to get your OG based off of the temp you took the reading at and the temp your hydrometer is calibrated for. http://www.brewersfriend.com/hydrometer-temp/
If it's not that then looking at grain crush and digging into your mash and sparge process would be next on the list to boost efficiency to match what efficiency the kit is expecting.

I'm using a hydrometer and i did a calibration check in water. I also took OG reading at 68F which my hydrometer is calibrated for. Everything seems fine.
But I did some digging and asking around about those kits, and I suspect that the grain crush is not fine enough for my brewing system. It,s called beerbrew30.
Others using the same system are saying they hit OG all the time with grain they crush themselves.