Changing yeasts is not changing FG

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by edgarmsmith, Apr 26, 2017.

  1. edgarmsmith

    edgarmsmith New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Savannah, Georgia
    I'm playing with a recipe and changing the yeasts, but nothing is changing from the parent recipe. I feel like the FG usually changes when I substitute different yeasts. Anyone else having issues?
     
  2. emsroth

    emsroth Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The default is often set to 75%.

    Also, if at any point you checked the "custom attenuation" box, then that will override any changes in yeast.
     
  3. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    9,470
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    Second this I customise all my yeast attenuation to around 80% that reflects what I'm getting on average across the board. With some yeasts a an exception.
     
  4. Mark D Pirate

    Mark D Pirate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Master carpenter , all round good guy
    Location:
    Radelaide SA , Australia
    Mash temps will also have an effect on FG , I step mash my clone coopers to get the FG right down .
    What are you aiming for with your recipe ?
     
  5. emsroth

    emsroth Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It seems like there is a technical glitch. I have seen at least one other complain.
     
  6. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    it will only change if the attenuation is different, some yeast have the same %, to check this use the custom form and change the %, it should change
     
  7. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,484
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    There was a glitch- we have it corrected now. Please again, and let me know if there are any further issues!

    Thank you.
     
  8. Locke

    Locke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is this glitch still there? I have tried adding custom attenuation and it remains the same no matter what yeast I choose.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white