Bottled Water Costs

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by AHarper, Jun 30, 2020.

Tags:
  1. AHarper

    AHarper Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    Is there a way of adding water costs to the system? I use bottled water to brew with - so I can adjust the chemistry from a known, published, base line value. This obviously costs money - whether it is bottled spring water or RO water (though I have never used or bought it) and is a contributory factor - try making beer without it!

    I have just used the OTHER option in Inventory to add Bottled Water as one of the options. This gives me a costing added into the recipe but I have to manually adjust the amount used (not a big deal admittedly) but it could be more useful to have the costing changed automatically by using info from the MASH or WATER CHEMISTRY sections.

    This may be a lot of work to organise so the above method works quite well as it stands but could I suggest we add WATER to one of the options in the TYPE dropdown list as this would be more useful that using OTHER as a value.

    upload_2020-6-30_14-51-47.png
     
  2. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    1,335
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    We have a ticket in for this currently, as water (and bottle caps, etc) are part of the total costs.
     
    Pricelessbrewing likes this.
  3. AHarper

    AHarper Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    Ah OK thanks. I didn't know about that - I have a lot to catch up on it seems. HeHe

    But while you are there... Has anyone requested that the "Rate of" section in the costs published in the VIEW screen be dispensed with?
    Only the actual unit cost needs to be there.

    i.e. Instead of
    upload_2020-6-30_15-2-26.png

    We have
    upload_2020-6-30_15-2-59.png

    This would also need to be done for the other sections. It would just make the page a bit less cluttered IMHO.

    Also the Currency symbol still does not track the Edit or Profile selction - but you may still be working on that one
    Alan
     
  4. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    4,478
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I get that a lot of people want to quantify their exact cost, maybe this is more for the pro brewers. I hope we don't get to the point where people are asking for a way to calculate the cost of propane, or electricity:D.
     
    Pricelessbrewing likes this.
  5. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Shouldn't be anything to worry about, don't fill it in and it'll be blank of zero.
     
    Craigerrr likes this.
  6. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Depends on the page, i only care about total cost on my recipe view, but in inventory/shopping I'd like to see the $/lb or $/oz for hops. I'm sure others will have a different preference though
     
  7. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    4,478
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, thanks Priceless, it's all good. I would just like to see the upgrades and improvements be more geared toward making better beer. Sorry, wasn't meaning to start something.
     
    Yooper and Pricelessbrewing like this.
  8. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    No worries, and I hear you and am on the same page.

    I've been given more control over priorities and timelines, so you should see a string of the recent and upcoming updates more related to fixing issues, bugs, then improvements to the things that need them that are core functionality like volumes, equipment, mash guidelines etc.

    Once we get closer to the sprint for bug fixes, I'll post in the announcement subforum and beta forum about the proposed updates to the core features to make sure they align with the communities desires.
     
    Craigerrr and Yooper like this.
  9. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    4,478
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Sounds like a solid plan!
     
  10. BarbarianBrewer

    BarbarianBrewer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    344
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Well....I guess I'll just have to withdraw that request then! :p
    I actually have a catch-all item in inventory to cover propane and other miscellaneous costs (gypsum, camden tablets, lactic acid, etc.). I estimate the cost to be somewhere between $3 to $4 per brew so I set the cost on that item to be $4 Each.
     
  11. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    4,478
    Trophy Points:
    113
    S'all Goodman, sorry, I didn't mean to diminish your request, cheers sir.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white